Organization no. 995 495 244 - PHILIPPINES
M A B U H A Y!

Flag of the Republic of the Philippines

The national flag of the Philippines features an eight-rayed sun and three stars, all in gold, on a white equilateral triangle on the mast. The upper half of the remaining area is blue while the lower half is red. The proportion of the flag is 2:1. The flag was first conceptualized by Emilio Aguinaldo. The first flag was sewn in Hong Kong by Marcela de Agoncillo, her daughter Lorenza, and Josefina Herbosa de Natividad, niece of the country's national hero José Rizal. According to the June 12, 1898 Declaration of Philippine Independence, the white triangle is the distinctive emblem of the Katipunan which by means of its blood compact inspired the Philippine peoples to rise in revolution. The three stars represent the three geographical island groups of the country: Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao, although in the Declaration of Philippine Independence, one of the three stars originally represented the island of Panay, instead of the Visayas. Both representations convey the same idea: the unity of separate peoples and cultures into one Nation. The eight rays of the sun represent the first eight provinces, Manila, Cavite, Bulacan, Pampanga, Nueva Ecija, Bataan, Laguna, and Batangas, which revolted against Spanish rule. While many people today think of Manila as a city, the addition of Manila to this grouping is historically accurate as in 1898, Manila and its suburbs were administered as a separate and independent province. This province is today known as the National Capital Region.

Map of the Republic of the Philippines
The Philippine Archipelago was once connected to the Asian Mainland. The early inhabitants, the Negritos and Indons, were said to have crossed from the Asian mainland to the Philippines through land bridges. Indonesians and Malay migrants subsequently came by sea. Early Philippine history even before 1500, indicates that Filipinos had been trading with the Chinese and the Arabs.Islam was introduced during the 14th century on the islands of Mindanao and Sulu.The archipelago was claimed by the Spanish king when it was discovered by Ferdinand Magellan in 1521. The Philippines was named after King Philip II of Spain. In 1565, Miguel Lopez de Legaspi established a Spanish government bringing the Philippines under the colonial rule of Spain for the next 333 years. Independence from Spain was won in 1898.The Americans took over from 1900 to 1946 with a three year intervention by the Japanese during World War II (1942-1945). In 1946 the Americans granted the Philippines its full independence. Scattered like beads of pearls across the vast emerald waters of the Western Pacific and South China Sea, the Philippine archipelago is a collage of 7,107 exotic islands. Spanning 1,850 kilometers from north to south, the Philippines' total land area of 300,000 square kilometers is mostly mountainous. The topography varies from swamps to high mountain ranges, one of which includes Mt. Apo, the highest peak in Mindanao at 2,954 meters above sea level. Ironically, the country also has the lowest spot in the world - the Mindanao Deep, an abyss that is 11,518 meters deep. The archipelago is divided into three major island groups: Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao.
National Anthem of the Philippines

Du trenger Flash Player for å kunne se denne siden.
lupang hinirang - original pinoy song
Philippines National AnthemPambansang AwitAlay ko para sa mga Pinoy abroad
            Lupang Hinirang
Bayang magiliw
Perlas ng Silanganan
Alab ng puso
Sa dibdib mo'y buhay.
Lupang hinirang
Duyan ka ng magiting
Sa manlulupig
Di ka pasisiil.
Sa dagat at bundok
Sa simoy at sa langit mong bughaw
May dilag ang tula
At awit sa paglayang minamahal
Ang kislap ng watawat mo'y
Tagumpay na nagniningning
Ang bituin at araw niya kailan pa may  di magdidilim 
Lupa ng araw Ng luwalhati't pagsinta
 Buhay ay langit sa piling mo
Aming  Na pag may mang-aapi
        Ang mamatay nang dahil sa iyo.